Links and Resources

Websites
Blue Flag Program http://www.blueflag.ca/
Blue Planet Project http://www.blueplanetproject.net/
Canadian Association of Physicians for the Environment http://www.cape.ca/
Canadian Heritage Rivers System http://www.chrs.ca/
Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society http://www.cpaws.org/
California Urban Water Conservation Council http://www.h2ouse.org/index.cfm
Campaign Lake Simcoe http://www.environmentaldefence.ca/campaignlakesimcoe/home.php
The Council of Canadians http://www.canadians.org/
The Council of Canadians Water Campaign http://www.canadians.org/water/index.html
Cradle to Cradle Theory http://www.mcdonough.com/cradle_to_cradle.htm
David Suzuki Foundation http://www.davidsuzuki.org/
Earthroots http://www.earthroots.org/
EcoSuperior Environmental Programs http://www.ecosuperior.com/
Environment Canada Freshwater Website http://www.ec.gc.ca/Water/e_main.html
Environmental Defence http://www.environmentaldefence.ca/
Environmental Defence's Toxic Nation Campaign http://www.environmentaldefence.ca/toxicnation/home.php
Friends of the Don East http://www.web.ca/~fode/
Gordon Water Group http://www.gordonwatergroup.ca/index.html
Great Lakes Information Network http://www.great-lakes.net/envt/
Great Lakes Radio Consortium http://www.glrc.org/
Green Party of Canada http://www.greenparty.ca/
Guide to Less Toxic Products http://www.lesstoxicguide.ca/index.asp
Lake Ontario Waterkeeper http://www.waterkeeper.ca/
Lake Superior Conservancy and Watershed Council http://www.lscwc.org/
Ladies of the Lake http://www.lakeladies.ca/
The Nature of Things: The Toxic House http://www.cbc.ca/natureofthings/toxic_flash/toxic_house_flash.html
Polaris Institute http://www.polarisinstitute.org/
POLIS Water Sustainability Project http://www.waterdsm.org/
Pollution Probe http://www.pollutionprobe.org/
Rescue Lake Simcoe Coalition http://www.rescuelakesimcoe.org/
Riversides Stewardship Alliance http://www.riversides.org/
Saugeen Conservation http://www.svca.on.ca/index.htm
Sea Web http://www.seaweb.org/home.php
Sierra Club of Canada http://www.sierraclub.ca/
Sierra Legal Defense Fund http://www.sierralegal.org/
United Nations Water for Life Decade http://www.un.org/waterforlifedecade/
Water Conservation for Kids https://www.improvenet.com/a/kids-ideas-for-conserving-water-at-home/
Water Conserve http://www.waterconserve.org/
Water Policy International http://www.thewaterpage.com/important-water.htm
Waterman's Blog https://www.watercheck.biz/content/blogcategory/1/95/
Watertalk.org http://www.watertalk.org/
White Mooose http://www.whitemoose.ca/

Books
Barlow, Maude, & Clarke, Tony. (2002). Blue gold: The battle against coporate theft of the world's water. Toronto, ON:
McClelland & Stewart Ltd.
Carson, Rachel. (1962). Silent Spring. New York, NY: Houghton Mifflin Company
DeVilliers, Marq. (1999). Water: The fate of our most precious resource. Toronto, ON:
McClelland & Stewart Ltd.
Glennon, Robert. (2002). Water follies: Groundwater pumping and the fate of America's fresh waters. Washington, DC: Island
Press.
Hundley, Norris. (2001). The great thirst. Californians and water: A history. Los Angeles, CA: University of California Press.
Layton, Jack. (2004). Speaking out: Ideas that work for Canadians. Toronto, ON: Key Porter Books.
Logan, Karen. (1997). Clean house, clean planet: Clean your house for pennies a day the safe, nontoxic way. New York, NY:Pocket Books.
McDonough, William, & Braungart, Michael. (2002). Cradle to cradle: Remaking the way we make things. New York, NY:
North Point Press.
Pielou, E. C. (1998). Fresh Water. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press.
The Pollution Probe Foundation. (1989). The Canadian green consumer guide. Toronto, ON: McClelland & Stewart.
Reisner, Marc. (1986). Cadillac desert: The American west and its disappearing water. New York, NY: Penguin Books.
Suzuki, David. (2003). The David Suzuki reader: A lifetime of ideas from a leading activist and thinker. Vancouver, BC:
Greystone Books.
Shiva, Vandana. (2002). Water wars: Privatization, pollution, and profit. Toronto, ON: Between the Lines.
Ward, D. R. (2002). Water wars: Drought, flood, folly, and the politics of thirst. New York, NY: Riverhead Books.

Are there any links or resources that you would like to see listed here? Contact me and let me know.

Water Awareness Questionnaire

  1. Where does your drinking water come from?
  2. Where does your wastewater go?
  3. What major drainage basin do you live in?
  4. Name some of the waterways close to your home.
  5. What is the state of health of these waterways?
  6. What are some threats or concerns with regard to them?
  7. Name some organizations that are working to create positive change for your waterways?
  8. How do you pollute your wastewater in your home or business?
  9. What can you do to minimize or eliminate these pollutants?
  10. What are some water consumptive activities that take place in your home or business?
  11. How can you reduce your water consumption?
  12. How can you take action to protect our water?

 

 

home | route info | biography | take action | links & resources | news | journal | photos
water reflections | guestbook | donate | sponsors | acknowledgements | contact

 

Website designed by Sharptech IT Services & Web Design